Wednesday, 22 June 2016

Giveaway #570 : Win House of Shadows by Nicola Cornick - closed - winner Kim Styles


House of Shadows by Nicola Cornick

Published by Mira in Paperback Original and ebook (£7.99) - OUT NOW

“Fans of Kate Morton will enjoy this thrilling tale” Candis Magazine
“A must-read for fans of romantic time-slip novels” Historical Novel Society
“House of Shadows delivers all that it promises” Heartbreakers and Heroes


Bestselling author and history consultant, Nicola Cornick investigates the untold story of Elizabeth Stuart, the Winter Queen, in this enthralling time-slip novel. Part mystery thriller and part historical romance, House of Shadows explores how one lie can impact the course of history. Perfect for readers of Kate Morton and Barbara Erskine.

February 1662
On the eve of her death Elizabeth Stuart hands her faithful cavalier William Craven an ancient pearl with magical properties to be kept safe for her rightful heir. Craven, distraught with grief, builds Ashdown Estate in Elizabeth’s memory and places the pearl at the centre.

February 1801
Notorious Regency courtesan Lavinia Flyte is brought to Ashdown House with her protector, Lord Evershot, who is intent on uncovering the Winter Queen’s treasures. Evershot’s greedy pillage of the ancient house will unleash a dark power which has lain dormant for a hundred and fifty years.

February 2014
Holly Ansell’s brother has gone missing. As Holly retraces his footsteps, she discovers that her brother was researching the mystery of Elizabeth Stuart and her alleged affair with William Craven. A battered mirror and the diary of a Regency courtesan are the only clues she has, but Holly is determined to discover the truth: Where is the fabled pearl that Elizabeth gave to William Craven? What happened to Lavinia Flyte? And who is the Winter Queen’s rightful heir?

 Nicola Cornick studied History at the University of London and has a Masters degree in Public History from Ruskin College Oxford. She acts as a history consultant for TV and radio and gives talks on local history and creative writing. Nicola also volunteers as a guide and historian for the National Trust at Ashdown House, where House of Shadows is based. Her award-winning novels are international bestsellers and have been translated into 26 languages. She lives in Oxfordshire. www.nicolacornick.co.uk @NicolaCornick

*** Click here to read my review of House of Shadows ***

I have a copy of the book to give away to a lucky Madhouse Family Reviews reader. Fill in your details in the Rafflecopter widget below.





UK only. Closing date : 6/7/16

T & C's : Entries close at midnight on the closing date. Winners will be selected with a random number generator and announced on facebook, twitter and in the giveaway post subject line. Please note, you will be contacted by email and/or twitter and if I haven't heard from you after 28 days, I'll have to pick another winner. Prizes will be sent out by the companies or their PR directly to winners. Madhouse Family Reviews cannot be held responsible for any prizes that go astray !

You may also like to enter my other giveaways :


66 comments:

  1. Spencer Broadley23 June 2016 at 05:03

    Stiff Upper Lip, Jeeves by PG Wodehouse

    ReplyDelete
  2. My last book was an autobiography by Julie Walters.

    ReplyDelete
  3. Margaret Clarkson
    "Daddy's gone a hunting" by Mary Higgins Clark

    ReplyDelete
  4. 'A circle of Sisters' by Judith Flanders

    ReplyDelete
  5. Not Quite Nice by Celia Imrie

    ReplyDelete
  6. Plum Island by Nelson DeMille (for the third time!) I love those series of books!!

    ReplyDelete
  7. the last book i read was 'room' - cant wait to see the film!

    ReplyDelete
  8. The last book that I read was Lizzie's War by Rosie Clarke

    ReplyDelete
  9. love a good read, fingers crossed

    ReplyDelete
  10. Kate Hamer the girl in the red coat
    It was a great read

    ReplyDelete
  11. Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins.

    ReplyDelete
  12. Lady Susan by Jane Austen.
    Twitter: @violetcherry456

    ReplyDelete
  13. You And Me, Always by Jill Mansell.

    ReplyDelete
  14. Chains of sand by Jenna Wayne, only just started it but started off a good read x

    ReplyDelete
  15. im reading the games of thrones books

    ReplyDelete
  16. Paula Readings26 June 2016 at 13:34

    The old curiosity shop - Charles Dickens

    ReplyDelete
  17. I just finished Anil's Ghost by Michael Ondaatje

    ReplyDelete
  18. Charlaine harris, poppy Done to death.

    ReplyDelete
  19. The Last book I read washetty Feather by Jacqueline Wilson

    ReplyDelete
  20. Remember Me? by Sophie Kinsella

    ReplyDelete
  21. The lovely bones

    ReplyDelete
  22. Toast by Nigel Slater x

    ReplyDelete
  23. Lucy Diamonds the Secret of Happiness :)

    ReplyDelete
  24. One by Norwegian author Ann Holt, it was good but I can't remember the name of it!

    ReplyDelete
  25. My last book was Stephen Kings The Dark Tower III I'm currently just about finishing number 4 and start the 5th one. My plan is to finish the series within the next couple of months

    ReplyDelete
  26. It was actually an old Stephen King book Salems lot, never got around to reading this before


    saf khan

    ReplyDelete
  27. Damaged Hearts. Thank you for the chance ๐Ÿ˜ƒ xxx

    ReplyDelete
  28. The Wicked Boy by Kate Summerscale

    ReplyDelete
  29. The Queen's Choice - Anne O'Brien A great read if you enjoy historical fiction :)

    ReplyDelete
  30. Ten Fingers and Ten Toes
    by Yvonne Joye

    ReplyDelete
  31. the little coffee shop of Kabul :)

    ReplyDelete
  32. The Truth about The Harry Quebert Affair by Joel Dicker

    ReplyDelete
  33. I've finished an epic fantasy called The Name Of The Wind

    ReplyDelete
  34. Tully by Paullina Simons for maybe the sixth time

    ReplyDelete
  35. Lee Child - Make Me (Jack Reacher)

    ReplyDelete
  36. The last book I read was 'The end of the world running club'

    ReplyDelete
  37. 'Inside of Me' by Hazel McHaffie

    ReplyDelete
  38. It was a book about Houdini

    ReplyDelete
  39. I just finished RSVP by Helen Warner

    ReplyDelete
  40. The first of the Famous Five books which I read to my daughter

    ReplyDelete
  41. I just read Harry Potter and the Order of the Phoenix, again!!

    ReplyDelete
  42. Can you keep a secret by Sophie Kinsella

    ReplyDelete