Tuesday, 25 October 2016

Giveaway #592 : Win 3 x Hoxton Street Monster Supplies Cookbook - closed - winners Laura Pritchard, Paula Cheadle and Sarah Wilson


For hundreds of years, the Hoxton Street Monster Supplies shop has been supplying quality goods for the monster community from its premises in east London - and this, its classic recipe book, has been in use for just as long.

Now, for the first time, it has been adapted for use by humans as well as monsters. So whether you’re entertaining trolls, hosting a vampire soirée or expecting zombies round for tea, you can make delicious treats to suit every occasion.

- Fallen out with a friend? Bake them some 1000-year Curse Cookies!
- Want to woo a zombie? Try our After-Gorging Breath Mints!
- Unexpected ogre guests? Make our Fresh Maggot Brownies or Spiced Earwax Pie!

With recipes and handy hints for monster housekeeping, this classic tome is an essential addition to every home, lair, cave, swamp or fiery pit.

Perfect for fans of Harry Potter and all things magic and fantasy. The must-have book for Halloween.


The recipes all have revolting names but the human versions are actually utterly delicious - you do need to scan through each recipe because the monster names give you no clue as to what you will really be making, but there are some really lovely things to make.


 We made this gorgeous Night Terror Torte (a Chocolate Orange Torte) which I will be telling you about in my next blogpost, which tasted as good as it looked.

Here are some of the other recipes that you might like to try.









RRP : £12.99

  • Hardcover: 160 pages
  • Publisher: Mitchell Beazley; 01 edition (8 Sept. 2016)
  • Language: English
  • ISBN-10: 1784722308
  • ISBN-13: 978-1784722302
  • Product Dimensions: 16.9 x 2 x 20.9 cm



I have three copies of the Hoxton Street Monster Supplies Cookbook to give away to lucky Madhouse Family Reviews readers. Fill in your entries via the Rafflecopter widget below.


UK only. Closing date : 9/11/16

T & C's : Entries close at midnight on the closing date. Winners will be selected with a random number generator and announced on facebook and in the giveaway post subject line. Please note, you will be contacted by email and/or twitter and if I haven't heard from you after 28 days, I'll have to pick another winner. Prizes will be sent out by the companies or their PR directly to winners. Madhouse Family Reviews cannot be held responsible for any prizes that go astray !

You may also like to enter my other giveaways :

Enter Welly Foods Puddle of the Year photo comp - big prizes plus bonus £50 cash prize for one of my readers


Competitions listed on www.ThePrizeFinder.com

101 comments:

  1. a nice...or not so nice, brownie

    ReplyDelete
  2. A batch of scary cupcakes complete with googly eyes! :)

    ReplyDelete
  3. ive been making parkin cake but thats more bonfire night

    ReplyDelete
  4. Spencer Broadley26 October 2016 at 08:04

    I won't be baking!!!! I'm useless, but the OH is going to make a Zombie Cake

    ReplyDelete
  5. a spooky spider cake!

    ReplyDelete
  6. I would like to make blood red Madeira cake :)

    ReplyDelete
  7. A Sponge cake decorated like a pumpkin

    ReplyDelete
  8. A gingerbread haunted house.

    ReplyDelete
  9. I'm ashamed to say (it's a time thing!) that I'm doing nothing more fancy than food colouring some frosting for cupcakes!

    ReplyDelete
  10. spiced squash soup, for weeks and weeks to use up all the pumpkin!

    ReplyDelete
  11. It is a family friend who does the Baking, a treat for my Mum. Looking forward to home baked Halloween cake.

    Rachel Craig

    ReplyDelete
  12. We do a monthly "bake off" which just so happens to fall on the Halloween weekend. It's pastry week for us, so I'll be baking sausage rolls :-)

    ReplyDelete
  13. I'd love to make some pumpkin soup if I have the time!

    ReplyDelete
  14. some devilishly delicious banana cake

    ReplyDelete
  15. It has to be something that's sticky or gloopy...maybe some cupcakes with a toffee topping and filled with red blood jam? ;)

    ReplyDelete
  16. The maggot brownies

    ReplyDelete
  17. Witches fingers - made of scone, and topped with an almond sliver.

    ReplyDelete
  18. Nothing too spooky for me, just things that are great for this time of year...hot dogs and mulled wine.

    ReplyDelete
  19. Chocolate marble cake - not very spooky, but it's our favourite.

    ReplyDelete
  20. Going to make gummy worm brownies, really yummy.

    ReplyDelete
  21. Pumpkin Pie, it goes down a treat in this house :)

    ReplyDelete
  22. The Hoxton Street Skewers look good!

    ReplyDelete
  23. love the look of the chocolate orange torte and the maggot brownies

    ReplyDelete
  24. Fab prize, would love to cook from this great book!

    ReplyDelete
  25. I baked some witches hat chocolate cookies and the kids had to decorate them with sweets :)

    ReplyDelete
  26. it was my mums 60th so me and my sister made a nice chocolate cake for her

    ReplyDelete
  27. i usually make sweet pumpkin pie, but its also my wedding anniversary and my husband took me to poland this year so i didnt get to make anything x

    ReplyDelete
  28. We didn't bake but we did do a pumpkin risotto with the leftovers.

    ReplyDelete
  29. I would bake some Frankenstein cookies.

    ReplyDelete
  30. We made mummy sausage rolls and creepy cupcakes

    ReplyDelete
  31. The spider web muffins look ace!

    ReplyDelete
  32. something filling like bacon and sausage rolls

    ReplyDelete
  33. Creepy Chilli Con Carni, Wah ha ha!!!

    ReplyDelete
  34. i made some halloween spooky cupcakes

    ReplyDelete
  35. I am planning to make another pumpkin cake. It's based on a carrot cake recipe but substitute the carrot for pumpkin!

    ReplyDelete
  36. We made mummy cupcakes and spider cookies for Halloween :)

    ReplyDelete
  37. I made some vampire blood cupcakes

    ReplyDelete
  38. I made some vampire blood cupcakes

    ReplyDelete
  39. I haven't done any baking but I absolutely adore pumpkin so will be using every ounce of the juicy, orange flesh in soups and savoury dishes that is left over after carving.

    ReplyDelete
  40. pumpkin cake (@PeanutHog)

    ReplyDelete
  41. I wouldn't inflict my baking on innocent trick-or-treaters! I just gave out sweets.

    ReplyDelete
  42. cake, cake, cake and probably cake :)

    ReplyDelete
  43. I'd love to bake some Halloween 'blood' centred cupcakes

    ReplyDelete
  44. loving the recipes my kinda book

    ReplyDelete
  45. Love Halloween so this book really appeals to me. Jack o'lantern cakes are my bake.

    ReplyDelete
  46. A bit late now, but the maggot brownies look ideal for next year's celebration!

    ReplyDelete
  47. Spider cupcakes with surprise popping candy!

    ReplyDelete
  48. I made regular brownies and we topped them with some marshmallows and icing to look like spiders

    ReplyDelete
  49. I'd like to enter please, hope I'm not too late.

    ReplyDelete
  50. cookies all different shapes as the kids will be cutting them

    ReplyDelete
  51. Spider cup cakes...... I'm very limited.....I need inspiration like winning your book!

    ReplyDelete
  52. We made potions with food colouring and water and ghost & spider cookies.

    ReplyDelete
  53. We made Day of the Dead Biscuits, Eye-Ball Snot-Tales (jelly type desserts!), Chocolate Bat Biscuits, and Orange Pumpkin Face Cookies for our Halloween party!

    ReplyDelete
  54. i made some shortbread with chocolate chips in x

    ReplyDelete
  55. Philip Underwood9 November 2016 at 21:54

    Eye-ball shaped cup cakes

    ReplyDelete
  56. brownies with chocolate chips in xx

    ReplyDelete

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...