Wednesday, 25 November 2015

Children's book review : Seas of Ramion - Frank Hinks

Have you discovered the weird and wacky world of Frank Hinks yet? You may remember my earlier reviews for Boris and the Dumb Skulls, The Blizzard Wizard and The Body Collector, which give you a glimpse of the riotous real of Ramion. 

Frank Hinks is currently working on the seventeenth book in the series and has now compiled a collection of three stories from the Ramion series in one hardback book. It's a beautiful tome, packed with brightly coloured illustrations and the Madhouse kids were very impressed by the fact that it's embossed with gold, even asking if it was real gold  ! Well, who knows? Anything's possible in Ramion !

The book is a wonderful companion to the books for hardcore fans and also those who are new to the series. 

You will be introduced to the bizarre beings that people the stories and will soon be swept away by Frank Hinks' inimitable style.

The book features three stories :

- The Kingdom of the Deep - The witch Griselda is in need of a holiday. She rejects her pet skull Boris’s suggestion of the south of France, and tells him that they will go and stay with her cousin Veronica in Morgan Castle in the south of Wales. But before leaving, she magically changes the holiday plans of the boys and their parents.

- The Blizzard Wizard - One touch of the Blizzard Wizard and body, mind and spirit turn to ice. With the unwitting help of foolish Cloud 9, the Princess of the Night frees the Blizzard Wizard from prison and he turns the Garden and the Gardener, and along with them the whole of Ramion, into ice.

- The Body Collector - Longing to dance and swim, Boris the skull wants his body back but cannot remember where he lost it! When Griselda and Boris visit the Body Collector nothing works out as they expect.

The crazy stories where anything can (and probably will) happen, the irreverent sense of humour, the fast-paced action and the multitude of brightly coloured pictures that festoon the pages make the stories perfect for reluctant readers or those with a short attention span. The Ramion adventures started with the author's oldest son giving him the first line of a story at bedtime each night and leaving him to take it over without any idea where it was going. We've spent many a happy bedtime reading a few pages of the story, giggling at the unexpected events and eccentric characters. It's a series that will appeal to kids of all ages, including "big kids" who have retained a childish sense of humour and are still young at heart !

star rating : 4.5/5

RRP : £9.99

Title Seas of Ramion
Series A collection of three published stories available on one hard back book
Author name Frank Hinks
ISBN 978-1-909938-01-4.
Publishing date 20 October 2015
Price £9.99
Backing format Hard Back
Pages:  240
Reading age:  7+
Publisher Perronet Press
Books available from Gazelle Distribution:
Tel +44 (0) 1524 68765; Fax +44 (0) 1524 63232

Disclosure : We received the book in order to write an honest review.

No comments:

Post a comment

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...